Old frames. Can they cut it today

Blinks

Dirt Disciple
Hi guys,

Not a post to wind everyone up. I'm after a bit of advice really.

I have an old cannondale synapse carbon. It's the original with pace stays.

I bought it off eBay and unfortunately it's a little big.

I'm wondering should I go new or go for a older secondhand steel frame but was wondering if older frames still compete with new technologies.

I'm pretty new to road cycling but do belong to a club and like anyone else I want to go as fast as I can :)

I do tend to lean to older things.

Just wondering what way I should go. I have a max of about £500 and will need to go for a 56cm centre to centre.

With older frames are measurements the same as on an older frame?

Appreciate any help. I would like a frame that will be the last one I buy so hope to make it right.

Cheers,

Re:

Well, judging by the number of roadies on new carbon/ally I overtake on my late 80s Ian May steel bike, I'd say they compete pretty well. ;)

Re:

That's great :) Just a bit worried I will end up buying something heavy and end up regretting it.

Re:

If we are talking about frames and their affect , that can be minimal. Something good like 531 will probably be better than many modern steel frames, many of which are nothing special and can be heavy. Not all but that means more than your budget.
Where you may notice it , depending on your weight, fitness and riding style is stiffness. My alloy CX bike is stiffer to ride than my 531 bikes. Not in a bad way, just that things don't flex as much. By modern standards a modern bike will generally feel better but that may not be needed. I pooh poohed the stiffness thing until I road a modern bike. Now I miss it. Other things to consider will be the rest of the bike. Older forks will have a 1" headset and be threaded. Again the do flex in comparison to modern stuff. again that may not be an issue.