Ti virgin needs help!

julesg007

Senior Retro Guru
Feedback
View
Hi,

I thought it was about time I lost my cherry and I've just got my first bit of Ti, a 1994 Clark Kent F14, however, being a Ti novice I'd like some guidance before I get on with the build once I get all the parts together.

i) Frame re-finishing - The frame is now 17 years old and does show signs of useage with scratches, some signs of chain suck and the original polished finished is looking a little dull. Is re-finishing Ti a DIY job or should I leave it to the professionals? If I can do it myself what would the best way to do it, hoping that it'll be as simple as getting out the autosol and an old rag but I fear not!

ii) Anti seize - I've been advised by the previous owner that I should use a anti sieze product to help assembly and of course prevent seizing and cold welding. I am aware you can get specific products such as Finish Line Anti Seize Lub, but could I use something like copperslip?

iii) Seatpost - I will be using a Ti seatpost. Should I apply any anti seize product when installing?

iv) General Advice - If there is anything else that would be of use or that I should know or generally be useful I'd be grateful for the guidance.

Thanks

julesg007":1ujx2vxq said:
i) Is re-finishing Ti a DIY job or should I leave it to the professionals?

Use Scotch brite.

ii) could I use something like copperslip?

Copperslip will do.

iii) Seatpost - I will be using a Ti seatpost. Should I apply any anti seize product when installing?

Yes. Just to be on the safe side. Your seattube probably has an alloy insert - most Ti frames seem to.

iv. Ti seems to amplify bike noise, so be prepared for some detective work when you hear various creaks and ticks. (Also, see iii.)

V. It's a Clark Kent, so check that sucker for cracks like your life depends on it, because if you're going to ride it, it does.

Thanks for the replies.