Raleigh Banana šŸŒ

alice_barber

Retro Newbie
Hello!
I have a late 80s raleigh banana - i know alot of people arent a fan of these but i love the colours and thought would be a good way of teaching me more about bikes. I would like to change the groupset on it from its original which has clearly had more than its fair share of riding.

I have some questions if anyone can help:
1. The rear freewheel (when i manage to bloomin remove the thing)- is it compatible with a different rear hub ? Or alternatively, is the back wheel compatible with a different rear hub? I would like to keep the original wheels that are in good condition.
2. Is there a low range / cheap (but not necessarily bad!) shimano groupset that someone would recommend to fit instead ? Like 8 or perhaps 9 speed.

I will probably have more questions as i fiddle with it. Also i know i am a beginner to this so will get it safety checked by a mechanic before taking it anywhere.
Any advice very welcome ! Thanks , Alice

IMG_4470.jpeg IMG_4481.jpeg

The brakes are also really stiff- i was going to replace with campagnolo veloce dual pivots - this may be dumb are any brake levers compatible ?

Also after having a thought if possible would really love to keep the rear/front mechs - is that impossible if i have to change the freewheel?