Old Dawes Galaxy

Libraryman2

Dirt Disciple
Hi all new to this forum, indeed I’m fairly new to cycling...at seventy that’s no mean feat!!
Anyways, I’ve bought myself an old Dawes Galaxy, completely original but bruised paint wise...however at £80:00 I’m pleased..

Can I ask if anyone could give me advise on a couple of questions..

1. The frame number is RA 7315 does this tell me it origin ?
2. The brakes are Center pull Weinmann with 4 levers....the Center bar levers are loose, can these be adjusted or is it simply better to upgrade the brakes and if so, with what?

Ray

Hi Ray,
Alas, Dawes frame number records have been lost, but if you can post some pictures there are some kind souls on here who are pretty impressive bike detectives.
Four lever "safety" brakes were a bit of a fad (lasted about 20 years) but the extension levers can be removed and replaced with good braking technique (and if you pick up either replacement pivots + hoods or new levers can even become comfortable). The original Weinmann brand levers are generally very good and still widely available on eBay etc. You could, of course, replace the levers with a modern combined brake/gear lever setup but this has quite a few downstream implications that could get expensive. The “Galaxy” model varied quite a bit over its long lifetime (I expect they still have one today) and it really depends on which one you have and what sort of cycling you plan to do as to how much money it is worth throwing at it before it makes sense to consider a better starting point.
So, welcome to RB, well done for choosing a Dawes and bring on the pictures!

Z

Hi!

I think I can guess the Galaxy you have - Heres my old Galaxy with a similar brake setup to yours.

file.php

These levers would be an ideal replacement

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Dia-Compe-BL ... VxSXHtCUhA

New brake pads too, but dont expect miracles as that design of brake was never that good.