noob question re: headset & forks ?

robadub

Retro Guru
Feedback
View
just picked up a '95 cannondale m500 (currently fitted with a dia compe aheadset and some rock shox judy xc's

id like to get some pace rc-35's fitted and a chris king headset but im not very technically minded, ideally id like to do the work myself but am not sure how wise this is for a noob like me ?

for a start im wondering if 1 1/8th is pretty much the standard headset size ? and also if the pace forks and king headset would be compatible with my dale ?

thanks in advance

1 1/8th is generally the more "modern" standard size,
yes you can get pace forks to fit.
yes you can get a king headset to fit.
Its not actually very hard to fit the headset, but without the right tools then you are going to have to use a hammer and a piece of wood.... maybe some threaded bar etc etc, so if you cant be arsed doing all that it might be best to take it to your local bike shop. ;)
no problems. :)

magicmistertea":g6c4ee8u said:
1 1/8th is generally the more "modern" standard size,
yes you can get pace forks to fit.
yes you can get a king headset to fit.
Its not actually very hard to fit the headset, but without the right tools then you are going to have to use a hammer and a piece of wood.... maybe some threaded bar etc etc, so if you cant be arsed doing all that it might be best to take it to your local bike shop. ;)
no problems. :)

ok thanks

is it much of a job to fit the forks and headset ? for a noob like myself i mean :LOL:

well thats what i wa trying to say..... its easy...... but only if you know what you are doing and you have a hammer a large flat screwdriver and a lump of wood !!! . :LOL:
but if you dont know what you are doing..... i can see it going wrong !! .
basically if you dont want to pay the bike shop then try it yourself....... if you can afford to pay the bike shop its a lot easier.