How long a fork shaft for CK NoThreadSet

wassertreter

Devout Dirtbag
Hello, newbie here.

I recently acquired a late 1980s Colnago Master Piu frame (has a straight, chromed Precisa fork), which I want to build up in the coming months.

What I'm really confused about is the plethora of headsets that's available (need to replace the one it came with). I'm fairly certain my bike has an 1" threaded steerer.

Also, I'm pondering using a 1" Colnago Street carbon/aluminium fork instead of the Precisa. Might be heresy to ask here, but which type of headset would I need in this case? I'm more interested in a retro build with a vintage frame, than a period correct one.

I read up on all the different headsets on the Chris King page, but that only added to the confusion. Any advice would be much appreciated. Many thanks.

You're along the right lines. And you're doing the right thing looking for a CK headset. You simply need their 1" nothreadset headset, sometimes known as a 1" Sotto Voce.
Get the anodised colour that matches your paint job. The choice of stem might be trickier but you'll probably get a good price as 1" is the old size.
Having said that, don't rule out a 1" quill to 1 1/8" aheadset convertor. Then you're only changing the stem and can worry about chaniging the forks/headset another day.

Sorry, missed that bit first time round... :oops:

Oh well, new Chris King it is then ! At least you can be sure it'll not ever sieze up, and will outlast a nuclear holocaust.

Here's a recent forum topic showing a Sotto Voce matching the Colnago paint job, although the problem with some Masters is knowing which colour to choose from !

http://www.retrobike.co.uk/forum/viewto ... highlight=

Hah there might have been some confusion on my part just as well.

Can the CK headset you suggested take both, the current Precisa fork, and possibly a (more) modern non-threaded one later?