Girvin crosslinks. What do they look good on and is a disc conversion viable?

ishaw

Gold Trader
GT Fan
Feedback
View
Just bought a set off here. Had a few sets of the carbon ones deviously and regret selling them, one was even nos.

The reason I bought the set on here was that I thought they'd look great on an rts I have. I've had the rear end converted to disc though, and don't want to be weird and run disc rear, v front.

Can they be converted to take a disk brake?

I've done some research and found a few examples of the carbon ones having a disc mount glued on, but not the alu versions.

I'm guessing an adapter bolted to the leg could create a point of failure but I'm no engineer. Could a disc tab be welded on?

While talking about these forks, has anyone used any other shock on them aside from the ods, noleen or risse? I've seen some examples of other shocks but understand that head tube clearance is tight so needs to be slimline.

The reason I bought the set on here was that I thought they'd look great on an rts I have. I've had the rear end converted to disc though, and don't want to be weird and run disc rear, v front.
I guess I'm weird then as I ran a rear disc & front V for a couple of years BITD, I always use the rear brake more than the front, especially in slippy conditions I always prefer to drag the rear to moderate speed than risk the front washing out on me.

I've done some research and found a few examples of the carbon ones having a disc mount glued on, but not the alu versions.

I'm guessing an adapter bolted to the leg could create a point of failure but I'm no engineer. Could a disc tab be welded on?

Yes you could weld a tab on but it's aluminium so you'll need a decent welder who knows his stuff and then get the fork heat treated afterwards.