WHEEL SIZES - HELP! (RE. 1993 Kona Hahanna *Project*)

DMZ

Devout Dirtbag
As a typical noob I am flummoxed by bike wheel sizes and reaching frustration point.

I am in the process of overhauling and customising a brilliant 1993 Joe Murray Project 2 Kona Hahanna mountain bike for fast road use (project introduction here http://www.retrobike.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=178633), doing a bit of engineering design to fit larger wheels with lower profile tires into the forks. But try as I might, I cannot make head nor tail of the wheel/tire measurement guides in the context of the measurements I have!

The current huge Joe Murray off-road tyres are described as 26"x 2.5(?). This I gather is the outer external diameter of the inflated tyre. I measured this and it checks out.
My forks, from centre of the hub to the absolute top of the arch is close enough 710mm (27.9"). I want the biggest tire outer diameter to fit this space as possible, for the lowest profile depth (height) of tire.

I realised that a 700mm outer tyre diameter corresponds to 27.6", just clear of my forks' arches. More comfortably clear would be 27" but that equates to an awkward 686mm. And by the 700mm outer diameter, I mean the very outside crown of the curvature of the tire, where it would touch the arch of my forks if it was too big - possibly not to be confused with the '700c' which I still, after hours of research, have no idea what the hell is referring to!

I want this to achieve a total of 700mm complete outer diameter (or approx) with the biggest diameter possible wheel rim (and narrowest), and can find no way of interpreting from the guides what is the biggest diameter/narrowest rim and lowest profile (height) tyre that would go together to achieve a 700mm total outer diameter. Or at least within a complete diameter of 710mm. The I can work out hub width (130/135mm? sigh!)

I'll be redesigning the brakes to reach the rims via a conversion kit, or more likely manufacturing my own custom pieces.