Wheel lacing / Spoke size help

K2edg

Retro Newbie
Hi all.

I'm new to the forum but i have been into Retro fat tube MTB's for a long time now and i own an early Marin Indian Fire train and a Muddy Fox Alu Team Pro. A couple of weeks ago i managed to break the rear rim on my Muddy Fox (the brake contact area wore through and the rim let go coming down a big hill :( )

So to cut a long story short i have managed to get hold of a good replacement rim (Thanks MatBH5) and because the hub was a bit corroded as i use the bit all weathers :) i have got hold of a nos hub exactly the same as mine too :D so i'm now thinking as i've never built a rim before to do it properly and fit new spokes too but apart from retruing a few i have never laced one or more to the point never had to select spokes so i thought i'd run it past you guys.

Ok this is where i'm at (does this sound right?)

The Rim is a 26" Mavic 230 TIB 32 hole so after a bit of searching old posts i found this http://www.bikepro.com/products/rims/rimtables.shtml which says it has an ERD of 546mm

Now moving onto the Hub, its a XT M732 , the Hub flange Dia is 46mm, the hub has 2.6mm spoke holes, the over all length between the mount flats is 130mm (which makes the centre 65mm). Now this is where i think i may have gone wrong, i need to work out the Hub Center to Flange Center and as this is a rear wheel we're talking about i have measured the Cassette end from the mounting flat to the Spoke flange which was 45mm then do i just take the 45 from the 65 so the Hub Center to Flange Center would be 20mm? and the non gear end was 32mm to the spoke flange so that would be 65 - 32 = 33mm. Is that correct?

I then found this calculator http://www.bikeschool.com/tools/spoke-length-calculator and after running my sizes through it i got 264.5mm drive and 265.8 non drive. Does that sound right to only have 1.3mm difference? and does it mean i need 264mm and 266mm spokes?