werent ridgebacks & muddy fox once cool

topshifter

Dirt Disciple
how comes ridgeback & muddy fox are now budget bikes? when i started riding in 86/87 they were top makes with high spec components like the 603 ridgeback in the freewheel catalogue which had full xt throughout. why didnt they exploit the market when mtb were just taking off? now there just crap

It is the market, bike companies fall into difficulties then some other company buys them because of the name and tries to trade cheap Sh!t on the name :( You could go mad thinking of all the times it has happened Holdsworth, Clude butler (to a certain extent), Diamondback......... et al.

I had a Muddy Fox team alu with full XT and an oversized aluminium fork was one of the best bikes I ever owned. Sold it to get a frame with disk mounts :oops:

Am I imagining it, or did the importer that owns the Ridgeback brand name invent a new brand called Genesis for its higher-priced items?

A bit like Toyota had to invent the Lexus brand to sell its most expensive cars?

Yep, depressing isn't. They once made stuff like the Sorcerer in my sig.
It started to go wrong in 1990 for MF as they produced a range of bikes with such extreme geometry that they were awful to ride off road. The 1991 year was a year with better bikes but with memories of the previous year the damage was done, right before the bubble burst, they sruggled on for a further couple of years before going bust and being brought by universal which has since disappeared and been replaced by the MF brand but selling the same cheap toilet. :(

Carl.

Anthony":ip9ded97 said:
Am I imagining it, or did the importer that owns the Ridgeback brand name invent a new brand called Genesis for its higher-priced items?

A bit like Toyota had to invent the Lexus brand to sell its most expensive cars?

Spin off from Ridgeback and split out to look increasingly separate (don't know how separate now) by Madison from what I gather.