Never ridden a road bike

Danone

Devout Dirtbag
I have no experience riding a road bike, how would i adapt having only ever ridden a mountain bike?

Being on-road majority of the time i've racked up many miles since riding and i'm always pushing myself to go further, i'm just not going fast enough! I have the energy and determination like many road cyclists but i'm still being over-taken by these endurance racers who all happen to be kitted up with the best road worthy bikes and equipment.

By no means do i think myself unfit because i ride 20 miles plus almost every day which i have been for many years and i very rarely take a break, why can't i reach the speeds of some of these cyclists? Is it the bike? Is lycra really necessary!? :eek: :roll:

I've underestimated the speed and power of a road bike and i want to try riding one.

Hi Danone. I recently quit 5 years of cross country MTB and recently bought a retro Viking road bike.

It's easy as well....riding a bike :LOL: ..... It took me less than half an hour to adapt to the bike and how it handles and now, after 2 weeks of straight riding it, it feels natural.

You're probably thinking nervously about the skinny tyres like I was. But as soon as I jumped on it I was enjoying every second of it compared to my old MTB.

I used to own a XC bike with 1.50" slicks but it was no where as near good as a real road bike.

Just have the seat slammed right down at the start of getting on a road bike, then gradually heighten the seatpost by 1cm at a time until you can ride it with the seat higher.

Hope this helps..

You'll find that a proper road bike is like casual sodomy.........ye'll wonder why ye didn't try it years ago....... :p

If ye are riding your mtb on road with knobbly tyres, a set of slicks will make a huge difference.