Mid 70's unknown Raleigh restoration from SA

Buff_SA

Retro Newbie
Hi, I’m new to the group and was requested to share my current restoration project with all of you due to it being fairly unique from the perspective of it being a Raleigh, built in South Africa. I'm fairly new to this whole restoration thing as well so please be gentle with me :LOL:

Now for us living here that’s nothing unique at all as all the Raleigh’s I’ve ever owned (and there’s been a few) were built in the Raleigh factory in Springs, SA. In the bicycle boom years the SA factory was producing in excess of 50 000 bicycles a year, mostly for the recreational cyclist, including the legendary Chopper (which I have in my small collection as well). The top end racing bikes however remained the domain of Europe.

This particular bike is probably dated around the mid/late 70’s but I’m not 100% sure. I’m not too sure of the model either because it has no distinguishing features on the frame. It’s certainly not a top end frame (the brace for a rear mudguard gives that away) but the components are fairly light weight and appear more suited to a race orientated frame. It has a mixtures of components, with full Huret levers and front and rear derailleurs and Mafac brake levers and callipers. It has a fairly unique SR crankset as well. It certainly seems to be speced very different to similar dated Raleighs from Europe.
The saddle is also a fairly unique piece on the bike. It’s plate states “Lycett made in South Africa”. My search history tells me that Lycett was bought out by Brooks in the 1930’s who continued to produce cheaper version of the Brooks saddle under the Lycett name. I was not however aware that they had a factory in South Africa and I’m currently investigating this further.