Cannondale Beast of the East 1996 Martyn Ashton inspired with a clueless twist

zeroFOXgiven

Cannondale Fan
Hi, I’m Felix and am so glad I found this community.
I also found so many unbelievably great build threads on here that got me motivated and all hyped up.

This is not going to be one of them.

But please hang out, grab a beer and watch me fail.

I’m new to this. All of it. It‘s my first build since the Nineties and I don‘t know what the hell I’m doing but I have been wanting to do this since I saw Dirty Tricks on a “borrowed” VHS…(yeah I still have it)

When i stumbled upon the frame a few months back, i had to get it right away and then started my research and it lead me here.
Thank you all for the warm welcome i received and all that I’ve read up on great builds from some of the grandmasters in here. Your stories, pictures and advice are like Hansel and Gretels breadcrumbs for me. Guidance and nourishment.

EB5E7574-1685-45F9-9D5A-2B7ED3481C4C.jpeg

So this is how I found her. A freak accident, I have been looking around the used bike markets on and off for a while since my beloved F800 I had for over a decade was stolen in the totally unjustified hope to find it turn up again. Guess what, it won’t. But while I was being sad and frustrated with the search for a new bike and the fact I won’t get my old bike back, the memory of my absolute dream-bike came to mind and I typed Besat of the East (sic!) into the search bar and this came up. With the same typo and actually the (almost) exact frame i was thinking about.
C055CEC9-CD48-45C3-B70F-211E9167FD37.jpeg
I had to get it right away.
Contacted the seller, paid an advance, had to wait a month to be able to make the trip and then finally I got it and brought it home - buckled up in the back seat.