1998 Turner Afterburner.

harkonen

Retro Newbie
Newbie here. Thought i would share some pics of my Turner Afterburner i have owned since the late 90's. Recently rebuilt the 3 linkage 'axles' using modified Nukeproof hardwear from the closing down CRC sale. Now the four bar linkage is play free once again. Have some pics. Really enjoyed reading the @al-onestare Kona Tomi Misser replica thread on this forum. Seeing a lot of Turner in that Kona frame, they must have been made by Turner?
Anyway here are some pics, currently with 66rc's, ex729 Hope pro 2's & Wetscreams, Straitline vertical wedge stem & Sunline bars and a Titanium Brooks b-17 saddle. Back in the day spec highlights were Manitou x vert carbons, Hope big uns on Sun doublewides, Profile 3pc cranks & Big Cheese ring and an Azonic cockpit.
IMG_0697.JPG IMG_0701.JPG IMG_0704.JPG IMG_0708.JPG

like it, not a fan of the brooks, but it isn't mine so I don't get a vote. :)
lovely bike, not much in relation between this and a Kona though I'm afraid. the Horst link was invented and patented, the sold to specialized, Kona had a fo-bar linkage instead. the movement of the rear wheel is different and having ridden a 5 spot along side a stinky I recon you can feel the difference.

love the turner. :)

lovely bike, not much in relation between this and a Kona though I'm afraid. the Horst link was invented and patented, the sold to specialized, Kona had a fo-bar linkage instead. the movement of the rear wheel is different and having ridden a 5 spot along side a stinky I recon you can feel the difference.

The OP is referring to the Kona Missser frames that were Turner frames