Older GT Restore/Build Project

monkey700

Retro Newbie
Let me start by saying hi. New to the forum but I have been lurking through the site for a few months now. I recently picked up what some might call a lost cause. It is a 90's GT Karakoram. $20 off of CL complete. Let me say, I am not a pro MTBer and I know most people would tell me to just get a new frame instead of dumping money into this old bucket... However I love the look and feel of old ChroMo frames. I had a Trek 930 that was stolen after I painted and upgraded it. Ever since then I have been looking for another old project to pick up. I've heard the Karakoram frame is bullet proof. This is more about the fun of doing this myself.

I put a post on another forum but then realized it might be better suited here where there are a lot of people that appreciate the older bikes.

v6TdAqD.jpg

What's done so far:

I've brought the frame home and stripped it of all the components. I then sent the frame off to be blasted and powder coated. Should be ready in a couple of days. Pics to come later tonight. This consisted of buying all the tools needed to remove the Crank, BB and Headset Cups, then doing the work. I am going to keep all of the Shimano Deore LX components for the bike and basically change everything else. Hope this still qualifies it as retro!

hIXK3XV.jpg

So that is the current state of things. Now for the fun stuff, the planned upgrades!

Here's the list:
New chain
New BB
WTB Speed V Saddle
Cane Creek 40 Series Headset
Vuelta Zerolite Wheelset
RockShox XC30TK fork
Avid BB7 Front disc set
Avid Single Digit V brake for the rear
Kool Stop Dual Compound Mountain Pads
LVWA Carbon fiber riser bar
RaceFace 70mm 6 degree stem
Maxxis High Roller II 2.3 for the front
WTB Weirwolf 2.3 for the rear