1992 Orange Aluminium Elite Gears

Lee6470

Retro Newbie
Hi all, newbie here!
Hopefully somebody will be able to point me in the right direction!
I have the aforementioned bike, very pleased with it, but a previous owner has converted it to a single speed set up.
I would like to return the rear setup, I understand that it would originally have had a Shimano m900 8 speed. These seem to be very expensive to buy used!
My question is, hoping to retain xt or xtr components, what combinations of kit could I use? I don't mind if it's 8 or 9 speed, but the different options available both new and used seem very bewildering, I would just like to understand what will actually fit my bike before I spend the cash!
Sorry for the ramble!

If your in no rush I'd be tempted to save a buy bits of XTR M900 as they come up. If your happy to go XT , M735 is good stuff and period right.

What bits do you need?
I have some XTR and XT kit up for sale right now.

Re:

Thanks for your reply minifreak.
I will need a rear mech, shifter and cassette, possibly a chain too, but the one I have might be ok.
The front currently has a middleburn 32t chainring, looks nice, so I'll probably leave that as is.

For a cassette the CS-HG41 by Shimano if going 8 speed is hard to beat, around £12 on eBay

Chain wise I'd go for a Shimano IG51 chain.

If it's just shifters and not brake levers you need, I have some XTR M900 shifters on hangers for £60

Re:

You could buy the Elite with various different builds so Shimano DX or M732/5 XT will be fine, as will Suntour Microdrive. The wheels should be Mavic M231CD based. Brakes were often Dia-Compe.

Re:

Please excuse my ignorance, but a quick scan of evilbay reveals that i can choose a "short" or "long" cage rear mech of the same variant (eg m735). Have no idea what the difference is.........!?

Re:

As me mentioned, Oranges at that time came with anything you wanted on them,though there was a basic outline.
DeoreLX/DX/XT (7sp) or the new XTR (8sp)